The Berenstain Bears TM


When Stan and Jan began publishing the First Time Books series with Random House, each book included what they called a “four-liner” on the half-title page.  These catchy four-line poems first appeared in The Berenstain Bears’ New Baby.

“The Berenstain Bears’ New Baby” – 1974

Each book after that has included a different “four-liner.”

“The Berenstain Bears Learn About Strangers” – 1985
“The Berenstain Bears Go Out for the Team” – 1986
“The Berenstain Bears No Girls Allowed” – 1986
“The Berenstain Bears and the Mama’s Day Surprise” – 2004

Do you have a favorite Berenstain Bears four-liner?  Please add it to the comments below!

For the Berenstain Bears 50th Anniversary, Random House is republishing many of these old-time favorites with great sticker sheets included in each book.  They are available where ever books are sold.

Skip to content